Message sent from:

At Sacred Heart we use the following programmes to enhance our phonics, reading, spelling and punctuation.

In key stage 1 – letters and sounds, phonics videos and a range of Apps, including ‘Teach your monster to read’ and ‘phonics play’.

All children follow the Oxford Owl reading scheme until they become free readers and access the rich literature we have on offer. Teachers are able to develop children’s skills in reading, writing, spoken language, vocabulary, grammar and spelling in a fully integrated way to raise standards in children’s literacy and spark a lifelong love of reading.

Reading books are banded throughout both key stages and children are regularly benchmarked to check they are on the correct book band both for fluency and comprehension.

Children are taught spelling rules and follow a scheme of work for their specific year group grammar objectives.

From Year 2 to year 6 the children use Reading Plus programme to further develop their fluency, endurance, progress and attainment





Parents guide to National  Curriculum 

(Click the link above to find out more about National  Curriculum and how you can help your child.)

Click on your child's year group below to find out the  expectations at the end of each year.

Reception        Year 1     Year 2  

Year 3          Year 4       Year 5    

Year 6  

Helping your child with phonics

Click on the useful links and videos  below to learn more about letter sounds and their names. 



Hit enter to search